University City is a Home Rule Charter city with a Council-Manager form of government. The City Council is a nonpartisan legislative and policy-making body comprised of a Mayor and six council members. The Mayor, who is elected in a citywide election, chairs the council and is the head of city government for ceremonial purposes and in the event of martial law. Two council members are elected in each of the City’s three wards, serving four-year terms.The City Manager is the chief executive for the city, running the day to day operations and administering the policies the council adopts.

University City is a full service community, offering the following city services:


Police Protection

Fire and Paramedic Services

Planning, Zoning, Occupancy and Building Permits, Development

Refuse Collection

Recycling Programs

Street Cleaning, Street Lighting, Leaf Collection, Snow and Ice Removal

Recreation Facilities


Golf Course

These services are provided by the following City departments:

Human Resources, Municipal Court, Finance, Police, Public Works, Parks, Recreation and Forestry, Fire and EMS, Planning and Development