Park Commission

Flynn ParkThe Park Commission is an advisory body consisting of seven members appointed by the City Council. All members must be residents of University City for at least two years immediately prior to their appointment. The duties of the Commission are to survey, advise and review plans for maintenance and improvement of University City parks, recreational facilities and activities; along with recommending rules and regulations for the administration of the activities of the Parks, Forestry, and Recreation department on related policy matters. The term of office is three years.

Meeting Frequency: Third Tuesday of the month, excluding August and December, beginning at 6:30 p.m.
Location: Heman Park Community Center

Council Liaison: Steve McMahon
Staff Liaison: Darin Girdler

Park Commission Agendas, Minutes, and Meeting Audio Files

The Park Commission also provides a lot of input during the master planning process for the Parks. The links below provide access to the current master plans for the City Parks:
Park Commission Priorities
2021 Priorities

2008 Parks Master Plan
Heman Park Master Plan
Millar Park Master Plan
Lewis Park Master Plan
Fogerty Park Master Plan
Ackert Park Concept Plan
Greensfelder Concept Plan

  1. Steve McMahon Photo

    Steve McMahon

    Councilmember 1st Ward

  2. Darin Girdler

    Darin Girdler

    Director of Public Works & Interim Director of Parks, Recreation & Forestry